Spain squad for World Cup 2018 has been announced

UPDATES: Spain final squad for world cup 2018 has been announced

Spain squad for World Cup 2018 has been announced
Spain squad for World Cup 2018

Spain’s coach Julen Lopetegui has announced the squad for World Cup 2018. The squad includes 23 players, Álvaro Morata has not been included in the squad.  After the news Morata sends well wishes on Twitter to his national team “Best of luck in the World Cup, I’ll be supporting and cheering through the end, as always”.

Julen Lopetegui said“It’s always a difficult decision. There wasn’t anything negative about [Morata]. But we thought there were other players in the position who could help us.”

The squad has 3 attackers which includes Diego Costa, Iago Aspas, and Rodrigo and instead of taking 4 strikers the coach went for eight defenders in the squad.

Marcos Alonso, Cesc Fabregas, and Hector Bellerin are also the big omissions from the squad.

Spain preliminary squad

Goalkeepers: David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Nacho Fernández (Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Álvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad)

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Jorge “Koke” Resurreccion (Atletico Madrid), Saul Ňiguez (Atletico Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid), Francisco “Isco” Alarcón (Real Madrid)

Forwards: Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Rodrigo (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid)


, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *