England Provisional Squad for World Cup 2018

Southgate have finally announced England’s preliminary squad and it has the debutant uncapped player Trent Alexander-Arnold the Liverpool defender. Gareth Southgate’s squad has 23 players named.

England Provisional Squad for World Cup 2018
England Provisional Squad for World Cup 2018

Goalkeeper Joe Hart, left-back Ryan Bertrand, and midfielder Jack Wilshere have not been listed in the squad.

Gareth Southgate said in an interview “We have a lot of energy and athleticism in the team, but players that are equally comfortable in possession of the ball and I think people can see the style of play we’ve been looking to develop.”

“The first call up for Trent Alexander-Arnold is well deserved. When we pick young players, it’s not just because they are young, it’s because their performances deserve it.”

England preliminary squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Gary Cahill, Fabian Delph, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Danny Rose, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ashley Young

Midfielders: Dele Alli, Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Forwards: Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Raheem Sterling, Jamie Vardy, Danny Welbeck

On standby: Lewis Cook, Tom Heaton, Adam Lallana, Jake Livermore, James Tarkowski

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *